HI, Im new to this

Discussion in 'Beginners Archery Range' started by Blackturtle, Aug 16, 2007.

1. Blackturtle

Blackturtle Junior Member

Hello everyone im new to archery and have been wanting to get into this for a long time but i dont know much about it. I dont know if i will get into hunting but i do want to targets and stuff, im 16 and have a part time job so i need a bow that dosnt cost too much and im looking for a compound bow (i think thats what its called). I also need to know what ill need for my new hobby. Thanx

2. J.C.

J.C. New Member

:welcome: Blackturtle :wave:

Have you picked a specific type of target archery you'd like to shoot, such as 3-D, indoor, field, etc? There's some differences in set-ups depending on the type.

3. Blackturtle

No clue, like i said im new to this and dont know anything.

4. brokenarrow

brokenarrow Evil Genius

First off welcome to the forum and the sport...
    My only advice to you is start small and don't get discouraged...If you start feeling overwhelmed step back for a day and cool off...It's supposed to be fun...and it is.

That being said, what is your budget...
    Bow: 200-1000
    sight: 20-400
    rest: 20-200
    arrows: 50-200
    release: 10-150
    target: 20-200
    and then the wants, not somuch needs...

5. brokenarrow

brokenarrow Evil Genius

I would suggest setting up a hunter/3d rig...It's a good all around setup.
    you'll have fun in the yard, go to a few 3d's, and if you decide to hunt you're already setup..that's the cheapest route...

6. Wheely

Wheely Wheely Threads

:wave: Hello!
    I wouldn't worry too much about specific types of archery yet. just get a bow and start shooting things (targets:biggrin1: )

And what BA said:nod:

7. hduc2005

hduc2005 Senior Member