How Much Is Too Much

Discussion in 'Beginners Archery Range' started by savagebandit, Jul 6, 2008.

1. savagebandit

savagebandit New Member

I was given a 7 year old bow, as a gift. I was wondering how much is too much to invest, in this. I invested so far 40 bucks for wb, 20 for sights, 10 for wrist strap. I want to get the cable/string replaced, they say its good. I don't know how it is under the serving, which looks good also. I am also new at this. I also invested 100 in tunning bow and arrows.

2. pred8er

pred8er He who eats fuzzy animals

Were you a bow hunter before you got this bow? Overall, I think you have managed your money quite well. Compared to what some people spend on equipment, you've just got a drop in the bucket. The thing to remember is that if you ever decide to upgrade to a newer bow, alot of your accessories can be transferred over to the new bow. Arrows can be used year after year if they don't get broken (or bent if they are aluminum). I think that once you find out if bowhunting is for you, you will wind up spending more than you realize.

As a side note, I have a Mathews SQ2 that is about 6 years old and it still spends more time in the deer woods than any other bow I own. It shoots like a dream and doesn't complain one bit when it sits in a treestand all day long. :cool:

3. dbdcougar

dbdcougar He Who Drops His Bow Arm

The man is wise. One thing about moving stuff over to the new bow - what happens is you decide to keep your present one set up and ready to go for a back up and then you buy all new stuff all over again! :dizzy: :D

4. brokenarrow

brokenarrow Evil Genius

I think you spent what you would have for any new setup...accessories are a neccessary evil, we have spend what we need to to get the bow shooting...and you can reuse them on your next bow

Now if you said you paid $200 for a 7 yr old bow that's another story...:D

What bow did you get???(make/model)...just curios...:noidea:

5. savagebandit

savagebandit New Member