I just purchased my first bow

Discussion in 'Beginners Archery Range' started by mrgrinch233, Oct 15, 2007.

1. mrgrinch233

mrgrinch233 Junior Member

First off, Hello to all. I've been meening to get into the art of archery for a while, and purchased a used bow sight unseen and have never held a bow before. It is a Fred Bear Whitetail Hunter, It won't be in my hands for another 3 days. I don't know anything about bows and am really glad I found this place. I know there are some of you with great knowledge that I will be needing from time to time. Hopefully I will learn and be able to pass it on, as I do in the pistol and rifle forums I belong to. Does anyone know anything about this type of bow? I will only be using it for target. I'll post pics as soon as I have it. Thanks. I hope this doesn't end up costing me as much as when I started shooting pistols, LOL:doh: :laugh:

2. MoSkeeter0311

MoSkeeter0311 New Member

First thing to do when you get it is to take it to a proshop. Have them check it out. Strings, limbs etc. You're going to have to get it fitted for you. Draw length, poundage, peepsight placement etc. It's not like guns. Bows are more personel. My best advice is to definetly take it to a Proshop and talk with them there. As far as the bow goes I'm not familiar with it but I'm sure a lot of the other people here know about it. And then Practise, Practise, Practise!

Welcome to the site, Good luck with your bow and don't get discouraged.:welcome: :welcome: :welcome:

3. mrgrinch233