i need help deciding...

Discussion in 'General Archery Forum' started by SlangByT, Jul 11, 2006.

1. SlangByT

SlangByT Junior Member

hi, i have been offered a hoyt striker II that has brand new (old) reflex limbs (fiberglass i think, not split) and a merlin max 2000 with max 3000 limbs. the guy offering them to me is a friend of mine, and owns a bow shop, hence the new limbs... both the bows are going for the same price, but the hoyt comes with an arrow rest, hunting pin sight and is in anodised camo, whereas the merlin is a bare bow with no rest or sight, and is anodised blue...

because he is my friend, and is giving them to me at a reasonable price, i cannot ask him which one is the better deal...

i have been shooting recurve for about 3 years, and really want to get a compound, as i have never owned one, but shot one a few times...

please will you give me any opinions, thanks.

2. BUNNYMAN

BUNNYMAN I pray for you!

Welcome first of all!!!!

Shoot both and see which one feels better in your hands, then you will have your own opinion of which one is the better deal.

3. bfisher

bfisher Senior Member

If it were me I'd be a shootin a Merlin just because not many people do.

It's kinda like why I scuba dive. Anybody can play golf.

4. SlangByT

SlangByT Junior Member

hey, thanks for the replies. i am going to pick up the bows tomorrow and hopefullly get to shoot them, and see what they feel like.

i do like the merlin, and it was the top of merlin range a few years back... the hoyt is probably a better hunting bow though... aaaah so many variables... i will have to see when i shoot them...

hey bfisher, i cant play golf for shit!!!

5. Dredly

Dredly Site Guru

I strongly suggest shooting them, forget that "because noone else has one" thing. The reason everyone shoots what they do is because its what they like.