Long Island Hunter new to Bow Hunting HELP

Discussion in 'Beginners Archery Range' started by Longisalndhunter, Feb 2, 2006.

1. Longisalndhunter

Longisalndhunter Junior Member

I am new to Bowhunting. i have been a Shotgun/Rifle man my whole life. I have done some research and i think I know what I am looking for but I would like as much advice as possible.

I measured my draw length at 30"
    I am a big guy and pretty strong I believe that I would want a draw weight of 65# - 80# with a let off somewhere between 65% - 75%.

I also think a single cam is best for me. I have been looking for a used Bowtek tomkat or allegiance. Do you guys think this is a good starter bow. Some guy on the internet wanted to sell me a used PSE F26 or a Ben Pearson.

Does anybody have a BOW that would be good for me that they want to sell.

Can anybody recommend a good starter bow. I am looking at used bows because I cant afford to spend too much. Am I on the right track here.

Please help. THANKS

2. MoBowman

MoBowman Senior Member

I would suggest a bow with a brace height of at least 6 3/4 inches to start for a new shooter. Don't get yourself caught up in the speed craze. Welcome to the world of bowhunting, you'll never look back. Good Luck

MoBowman ```---------->

3. Longisalndhunter

Longisalndhunter Junior Member

Thanks but....

Really? All the info I have read has pointed me toward sbrace heights of at least 7". I am a very big guy, a bodybuilder to be precise. would my strength play any role in choosing a brace height. How will a shorter brace height benefit me?

Thanks for your info!!

4. Chris

Chris Administrator Staff Member

My recommendation is stay 7" brace or higher. With a 30" draw and the weights you are talking about, speed is not an issue. This assumes you are looking at a bow that is less than 3 years old.