making arrows

Discussion in 'General Archery Forum' started by nyarcher, Aug 16, 2007.

1. nyarcher

nyarcher Member

what is your favorite glue for vanes on carbon?how do you prep?what jig do you use?i'm new to making my own arrows.I just ordered a grayling to do my own arrows. nice to meet everyone!:wave:

2. chelleo

chelleo Guest

I use a Bitzenberger jig and Goat Tuff glue. I prep the arrows with Denatured alcohol until the shaft is squeaky. Don't touch the area you have cleaned and your glue should stick very well. Key to it all is don't use alot of glue...less is more.

3. dzingale

dzingale Senior Member

What he said.:cool:

4. nyarcher

nyarcher Member

Iv'e read about goat tuff on a few posts.I'll have to get some. Who here likes the blazer vanes?

5. chelleo

chelleo Guest

Hmm should i :Cry: or just figure you are very sleepy. I'm an ole woman at least this week, didn't think I looked like a man in that pic but maybe DZ needs glasses too LOL

6. dzingale

dzingale Senior Member

I use Vanetech and love them. I have worked with the new QS Speedhunters and like them too.

7. dzingale

dzingale Senior Member

Sorry about that.:doh:

8. nyarcher

nyarcher Member

hahahaha I'm going to love this place!:rockon:

9. Wheely

Wheely Wheely Threads

Careful, you don't want to give them any firepower, they will run with it. DZ must be tired, cuz you look like a woman to me Chelle :biggrin1:

10. QSA

QSA One eyed/Gutless wonder

Goat tuff for all

11. BowhuntnHoosier

BowhuntnHoosier Bisquit.......

Saunders is great glue and if you need to refletch it is much easier to get off than Goat Tuff.

12. brokenarrow

brokenarrow Evil Genius

I have used Flecht tite and FT platinum and had trouble I switched to goat tuff no trouble...But like Chelleo said prep your arrows good, it makes or breaks the job...

Blazers are a tuff vane...some guys have some trouble tuning with them, but I don't use them myself...

13. piethon

piethon Member