Mathews vs. Bowtech

Discussion in 'General Archery Forum' started by rqthunter, Jun 18, 2007.

1. rqthunter

rqthunter Member

So I'm fairly new to bow hunting. I had a bow as a teenager, but just plinked around. I had always hunted rifle and primitive season, but then killed my first buck 4 years ago with a $300 PSE bow and got hooked--you know what I mean. I bought the first bow at Cabelas that was in in my price range, and then after that first season, I began reading magazines and articles on the internet... you know the drill. Every hunting video I saw seemed to promote Mathews, so I eventually bought a Switchback (last summer). I loved it! Unfortunately, I had to sell if for some unfortunate reasons, and then this spring bought a used Allegiance and now a Guardian by Bowtech. I know there is a lot of brand loyalty in the bow hunting world... much like the Chevy vs. Ford wars I remember my dad arguing about 20 years ago. The fact is they are both unbelievable bows with their own personalities. I love the guardian, but I also love some of the aspects of the switchback. I may even get another one just becasue the draw is so smooth. The guardian and allegiance definetely have the speed advantage - same pin at 10 or 20 yards. So, as a newbie, I say let's just all get a long. It's 2007.... and who would have thought 50 years ago that the Japanese would make the best cars!:amen:

2. pilot

pilot Senior Member

I used to badmouth Fords pretty good in high school and college, as i come from a very loyal Chevy family.....but my '01 Ford Supercrew has been the best truck i've ever owned :doh:

Brand loyalty is amazing to me sometimes. I get the biggest kick out of the guys around here that spout off about how one brand is the best brand out there but when i ask them how many different bows they've tried.....the usual reply is "I've never shot nothin but _____." I ask why.....the usual reply is ""Cause it's the best bow made, my cousin sez so."

:frusty:

3. BUNNYMAN