Mechanical Broadheads

Discussion in 'Beginners Archery Range' started by savagebandit, Jul 7, 2008.

1. savagebandit

savagebandit New Member

:frusty: I'm a little new to archery. I have been shooting 100Gr field points about 6 weeks. I want to try some broadheads. Should a newbee start out with mechanicals and work his way up or just do like Michael Jordan and go with the non-mechanical heads. Inquiring minds want to know?:noidea:

2. bullfiddle

bullfiddle Movin on up!!!

I personally like a fixed blade broadhead but hey that's just me. Alot of guys shoot mechanicals and have great success. The main obstical you will have to overcome is to make sure your bow is in proper tune for whatever broadhead you decide to shoot. It's really personal preference...:noidea: My best advice would be not to buy broadheads just because there cheap. Spend a little more and get a good quality broadhead and you won't be disapointed.:rockon:

3. dbdcougar

dbdcougar He Who Drops His Bow Arm

I just can't bring myself to use mechanicals either; Fiddle gave you a good answer.

4. TEN RING

TEN RING ONE SHOT ONE KILL

1 vote for mechanicals if you use a good quality like rockets if you go cheap with mechanical or fixed you we be sorry :Cry:
    I shoot the rocket mini blaster 75 gr.with 2'' vanes and can tell you I have never lost a deer with them in ten years of shooting them don't knockem till you try them :wave:

5. savagebandit

savagebandit New Member

Thanks for the advice. My next task is to pick out a set. Do you prefer two blades or three?

6. bullfiddle

bullfiddle Movin on up!!!

I like the 3 blade models.....:noidea:

7. Ronhop

Ronhop RIP

I have been using NAP Spitfire 100gr 3 blade expandables for the last 3 seasons and I have not had an issue with losing a blade in flesh or not having a blade open.

But having said that I have hunting buddies that use fixed blade broadheads to good use as well...

Ron

8. trophyhill

trophyhill New Member

first time bow hunter