Need Opinions please.

Discussion in 'General Archery Forum' started by ChiefBDT, Aug 22, 2006.

1. ChiefBDT

ChiefBDT Junior Member

Hey all, I'm new here and in the market for my first bow. I'm looking for a good compound for target use. I have been shooting handgun competively for over 20 yrs and it's time for something new. I'm going blind looking at the ads on e bay so here is my question. What would you guys suggest for a high end quality bow to be used for target shooting. I'm kind of looking for a complete package, something like the Hoyt Ultra Tec??? Anyway any advise from you experts is much appreciated. BTW - I'm 6ft. 220 and I measured my draw length at 28.5.
    Thanks and look forward to meeting all.
    ChiefBDT

2. BUNNYMAN

BUNNYMAN I pray for you!

If you want high end look at the Apex 7 from Mathews....

Ultra elite or Pro-elite from Hoyt.....

Hey he asked for opinions....thats mine.....

Dont bother looking at that SLOTECH stuff.....have a bad habit of coming apart at the seams, it seems......

3. whitetail99

whitetail99 Senior Member

You are better served by a quality pro shop for your first bow. QUALITY is the most important word in that sentence. I know some shops intensionally dump product and over charge for services when you are not sure of your self. If post the area you live in some one might be able to help point you in the right direction. Some shops have used equipment that they sell at good prices if you don't already know.

4. bfisher

bfisher Senior Member

I'd suggest a good pro-shop, too. As for quality bows? There are ton's of them once you open your wallet. I'm warning you now that this sport is addicting and will make you a poor man---beware.

Ok, Look at Martin Pro Series in Elite configuration. Presently I'd be more inclined to shoot the ShadowCat or RazorX (present models) with the Nitrous cams and "X" cabling system.