New 2 archery

Discussion in 'Beginners Archery Range' started by southern_rebel, Jan 18, 2008.

1. southern_rebel

southern_rebel New Member

Sup everyone....I'm new to archery and bowhunting. I'm looking at purchasing my first bow within the next month or so. I've been looking at 2 different bows but the local archery shop offers just 1 of them. The 2 bows are the Bowtech Tomkat & the Martin Bengal. Any advice or opinions will be greatly appriciaited. Thanks in advance.

2. bullfiddle

bullfiddle Movin on up!!!

I don't shoot either brand but they both make good bows....:welcome: to the forum:wave:

3. J.C.

J.C. New Member

:welcome: to the forum. try to find another shop that has the Bengal, shoot them both to see which one you like.

4. southern_rebel

so far the closest place that i have found that sells the bengal is bass pro in bossier city, la. they have an indoor range and all but the drive their to shoot the bow then the drive back to purchase the bowtech incase i dont like the bengal would eat my lunch. will research more. and please feel free to give all the advice, links, and anything else were i can get tips from. i know experience is the teacher but tips and advice are the text books.

5. J.C.

J.C. New Member

How far are you from Gilmer and Diana? There's bow shops there.

6. southern_rebel

i'm bout 30 or so minutes from longview

7. QSA

QSA One eyed/Gutless wonder

I know a few guys the got the Bowtech and love it.

8. J.C.

J.C. New Member

Here's a couple of dealers you might call that are fairly close to you. I would definately call first. I was in East Texas Archery in Diana last summer and he didn't have much in stock. I'm sure he stocked up for hunting season though.

The Bowtech is a very good bow. Have you shot it yet?

EAST TEXAS ARCHERY *R184A*
    Pro Series Dealer
    2335 HWY 259 S.
    PO BOX 240
    Diana, TX 75640
    903-663-4626

LUFKIN FARM SUPPLY *R258A*
    Pro Series Dealer
    1217 E. LUFKIN AVE
    Lufkin, TX 75901