New to Archery

Discussion in 'Beginners Archery Range' started by Drill Sergeant, Sep 1, 2008.

1. Drill Sergeant

Drill Sergeant New Member

Hello all!! I'm new to archery and could use some advice.

My oldest boy is expressing a lot of interest in guns and bows. I have a few guns (see screen name) and he's been to the range with me a few times, although I only let him shoot once (hit the target too), which is what he wanted. He shot a bow at a Ft. Smith, Arkansas Outdoor Museum and still expresses interest. What are your thoughts to getting him a small bow? He is 5 1/2. We live in city limits, so I believe it's something we could do in our backyard.

Now onto me. I've always like bows and have only shot some, but have enjoyed it. I'm 38 year old male (sounds like I'm applying for a date) weigh 190. My arm span is 73 1/4 inch finger tip to finger tip, height is 5'11 3/4". So, I'm figuring 28.5 -29" draw.

My only concern for pulling is that I have a separated right shoulder. Is there anyone out there that also has a separated shoulder and still shoots bow? I still workout and it doesn't bother as much if I keep the muscles strong. Additionally, I'm left eye dominant, but can switch as I've always shot rifle right handed. So, with a separated shoulder is it better to pull or hold with that arm.:noidea:

I am not afraid to start out with a used bow at minimum pull to see how I like archery and determine how my shoulder hold up.

Thanks, :sorry: for the dissertation.

2. scottg

scottg Huntin Junkie

First off, :welcome: :welcome:

I would think that holding with your bad shoulder would be more comfortable for you. It would really be up to you to see which is more comfortable. I would recomend going to a pro shop and shooting some bows, both right and left handed and see which one that you feel better with.