Newbie here looking for advice

Discussion in 'Beginners Archery Range' started by Electrobes, Feb 9, 2008.

1. Electrobes

Electrobes New Member

Hey y'all (Practicing this here accent of mine)

I recently moved to South Carolina from Florida and am now in country territory... and love it. I am into airguns but a friend of mine got me interested in this small town's sport: Bowhunting. I decided to get a bow but figured not only would I get opinions from my friend, but out here too. I am basically looking to hunt rabbits, squirrels, possibly hogs. My friend claims he'll get me into deer, but we'll see about that. :D

Now there's a store here (in town) that has a nice bow section, and the people there seem straight forward to me. Old timers who like to tell interesting stories and seem to know a lot of stuff, always willing to give you advice. Their website is only showing package deals (I think this website is flagging the site as spam, so I can't post it.) for the three brands the only carry: PSE, Browning, and Bowtech. They sell both barebones and package deals.

Since I am a beginner I'll see if they have something used for my size (6', 185 lbs). From what you guys see in that store... would you suggest something from there (As they only carry 3 brands) or suggest getting a bow online? I know they have more bows than what you see (They are only showing packages), and my budget at the moment is about 400 bucks.

Appreciate the input!

2. goldflinger

goldflinger Senior Member

If you plan on staying in the area and find something you like at the local store, I'd say buy from them. Maybe a little more likely to remember who you are. I think having a first name bases relationship with someone "on the inside" would be really nice. And:welcome: to the forum.

Last edited: Feb 9, 2008

3. Electrobes

Electrobes New Member