Discussion in 'General Archery Forum' started by NChunter1, Aug 29, 2007.

1. NChunter1

NChunter1 Junior Member

I am new to the bow hunting thing, any tips will help. I need help with just a few things.

1-Is it easier to shoot with both eyes open or have 1 closed?

2- What is the easiest way to sight in a bow.

I have decent grouping now but I want to really get good with this thing. I am already in love with it. Any help in anyway will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

2. J.C.

J.C. New Member

:welcome: NChunter1

You should shoot with both eyes open if you can. You'll be able to see deer better in low light conditions. The only reason you wouldn't be able to is if you're right handed and left eye dominant or vice versa.

When you ask about sighting in, do you mean tuning your bow to shoot better groups, or actual sighting in, to make your arrows hit where your sight is aiming?

3. QSA

QSA One eyed/Gutless wonder

welcome. practice over and over at 20, 30 and 40 yards, try shooting some 3D to sharpin you yardage skills. work in aiming and do not turn out like bowman.

4. NChunter1

NChunter1 Junior Member

J.C.--

I want to hit right where I am aiming. I have pretty decent shot groups as it is. I know you move the pins up and down and the sight left and right, but I dont know the easiest and quickest way to find that zero like I can a rifle.

I really appreciate the help so far.

5. Ronhop

Ronhop RIP

Tell us what kind of bow, sight, etc... Do you use a peep or a kisser or nothiing on the string ? Tell us a little about what you are shooting and how it is set up and we can help.

Welcome to the forum too !

Ron

6. BowhuntnHoosier

BowhuntnHoosier Bisquit.......

:welcome: to the forum and archery, its a great sport.