O Geez, Super NOob here needing Help

Discussion in 'Beginners Archery Range' started by chowee21, Dec 29, 2007.

1. chowee21

chowee21 Noob For Now!

Ok... here we go....

1. Can upgrade my limbs or cams on a PSE XLD 900?
    2. What is the rope loop by the stabalizer on the bow for? (not the release loop)
    3. how do i know what kind of stablizer i need and if i need the weights that go on the limbs?
    4. best weight for taget shooting?
    5. Whats a machine riser?
    6. cheap and efftive target ideas?

Thanks For the Help!

2. goldflinger

goldflinger Senior Member

:welcome: :welcome: I can help you with some of your questions.When you pick up your bow to shoot put your hand through the looop and grap the bow as normal. When you get the bow back to shoot, relax your grip on the bow. When you release the arrow the loop will prevent the bow from falling. The proper grip is a subject all it's own, but that's the idea behind the loop. The riser is the part of the bow that you hold on to. The limbs are attached to it at each end. They are normally cut out of a solid hunk of alluminum. They use milling MACHINES in the MACHINE shop. So it's called a machined riser. I'm not sure, but I would assume the cheaper bows are probable made by pouring liquid metal into a mold. Glad to help with what I could. And:welcome:

3. Sniper

Sniper Senior Member

Geez, you really are a Newbie.

I'll try to answer some.

2. I think you mean the wrist sling. It should be loosly looped over the wrist. When you aim and shoot, your hand should be relaxed, with fingers open and loose, and the palm, wrist/ forearm rotated slightly downward. No "Death Grip" on the handle, O.K.? Position the handle on your hand so that it is pulled against the web of you hand, between the Thumb and Index. If you consistently position your hand, that will prevent left/right spreads to your shot groups.