Problem... hELP!

Discussion in 'General Archery Forum' started by chowee21, Jan 17, 2008.

1. chowee21

chowee21 Noob For Now!

ok.. i'll try to keep it short...

I just got into the sport and am shooting the bow in my sig....
    I am right handed so i have shot right handed, but i am not really in depth to the sport yet.. So i bought this older bow to start with but heres the thing I HAVE A LEFT DOMINANT EYE.
    i bought the bow for about 260 and i dont think i can get that much back out of it so should i....
    I've prolly shot about 15 times.

a) Keep shooting the right handed bow, with one eye closed
    b) Sell my bow and find a lefty bow so shoot with two eyes
    c) Get a lefty and keep the righty and shoot both

Last edited: Jan 17, 2008
  2. BowhuntnHoosier

BowhuntnHoosier Bisquit.......

I have the same issue. I have been shooting a bow for about 28 years. I never even thought about it way way back but I also am left eye dominant. I have tried shooting left handed but prefer to keep things the way they are. If you are just beginning I would say get a left handed bow and see how it goes. Its a decision you will just have to make. Good luck and have fun shooting.:peace:

3. MoSkeeter0311

MoSkeeter0311 New Member

In my personal opinion, I would say that getting setup for your dominant eye would be the best possible choice. As of right now you don't have much invested and if you plan on staying with archery your going to want to improve your setup as time goes. Start out correct.. It will be more awkward at first shooting "lefty" because your right handed but in the long run it'll pay off. You're going to have to train your muscles anyway for archery, it may be a little uncomfortable at first but you'll get used to it with time. Good luck and keep shooting and :welcome: :welcome:

4. IChim2

IChim2 IChim2 and he's a shooter