Traditional vs. Compound

Discussion in 'General Archery Forum' started by Pinelander, Mar 18, 2007.

1. Pinelander

Pinelander Junior Member

What is the biggest difference between the two that has guided your decision to shoot and/or hunt with one or the other?

No, I'm not trolling.... but truly interested in what drives archers/bowhunters' choices in equipment. I know why many of today's "new" traditionalists choose to use a recurve or longbow (and I must say, for some pretty silly reasons more times than not). It is very obvious that the recurve/longbow choice for hunting has made a popular comeback in the last 20 years. Is it because it is harder to do, thus more of a challenge? Or are there others reasons? Is it really about doing it the "hard way"..... or is it about doing it the "simple way"? I don't believe those two things are the same, at least when it relates to bowhunting.

2. brokenarrow

brokenarrow Evil Genius

I started shooting recurves as a boyscout and own several now. But I choose to shoot and hunt with a compound now. I suppose it seems easier to me to use the compounds...I do enjoy the traditional way and may start shooting them again soon...for the challenge of doing it "the simple way" as you said...:noidea: :biggrin1:

3. Chris

Chris Administrator Staff Member

I think part of it as a progression to a more difficult goal and in turn a more rewarding goal.

It's like gun hunters that turn to compounds. They're looking to get the thrill back, so they pick up the bow. After you have shot a bunch with the compound bow, the thoughts go to a more challenging method. They think traditional.

4. Allen

Allen Senior Member

I shoot compounds for target because that's where the top competition is. There is getting to be a lot of competition in traditional equipment, but around here, the bigger names and better shooters are shooting compound and I want to measure myself against them.