Treestand recommendations

Discussion in 'Bowhunting forum' started by Sean Foster, Jun 17, 2008.

1. Sean Foster

Sean Foster New Member

As it says in my signature, I am new to bowhunting and so I would like opinions on which type of treestand I should use, how high up, etc. I live/hunt in the Central Sierra Nevada mountains in California (zones D-7 and D-8) at 7200' elevation. The terrain ranges from steep and rocky to dense forest. There are red fir, white fir, and many types of pine trees. In addition, the brush/bush types include manzanita and buck brush.

So what would you guys recommend?

2. dbdcougar

dbdcougar He Who Drops His Bow Arm

Only have experience with the hardwoods, can those trees be used with a climber? Do you own the land and is it reasonably accessible to use ladder stands? I usually go 15-18'. I prefer a climber and I really like my Summit Viper. The ladder stands I hunt out of are not mine, and even when I hunt on that land I've often used my climber instead of one of the fixed stands.

3. jdawg240

jdawg240 BOWNUTS

I also only hunt harwoods in the midwest but I wont hang a stand unless it says API on it. I dont skimp on stands. I buy the magnum bady grands. They are well worth the money for fixed stands in my opinion.

4. STRO

STRO get'n rid of target panic

Doesn't sound like a climbing stand would fit you but if you can use one I would go with a summit. It is the most comfortable stand I have and I feel a lot more comfortable in it especially 20 feet high compared to a fixed stand. I can sit for long hours in my summit because of how comfortable it is.

5. Chris

Chris Administrator Staff Member

My personal favorite are the lone wolf stands. Their pricey but worth every penny in my opinion.

6. wolf942

wolf942 New Member

Treestand