Up in arms

Discussion in 'General Archery Forum' started by gunner, Aug 10, 2007.

1. gunner

gunner Junior Member

I'm in the market for a new bow. I have been going to the same pro shop for a 16 years. I have been shooting the same tournament bow for six years. This year the old bow got a cracked limb. The pro shop has been building his own bows for the past 5 years, and asked if I would like to shoot one of his bows. I would be a staff shooter for him to promote his bows on the tournament trail.

I would be glad to shoot for him but I have one problem with the bow line that he has. The bows are a great bows nice and smooth, quite and fast. The only thing that I don't like about the bows is after 45 yards the groups open up and I can not get them to come down where I would like. At 50 yards I can hold a 4 inch group with it but can not get any smaller. With the my hunting bow I can get smaller groups. I want to shoot for him but I can not go out and promote his bows if I can not get them to group. I have to let him know what I'm going to do in the next week or so. What should I do about this? should I stick with it and see if there is a way to get better groups or just buy a bow that shoots better.

2. BowhuntnHoosier

BowhuntnHoosier Bisquit.......

Sounds like a tuff situation. If you are not confident in your equipment that will begin to wear on you. You can probably get the bow to perform well but it my take awhile to get the confidence in it. I am not sure what I would do but I wish you all the best in your decision. I would be honest with the owner/builder and state how you feel straight up. He will surely respect you for whatever you decide.:peace:

3. Hook Em

Hook Em Slippy for President