What to look for?

Discussion in 'General Archery Forum' started by prodeerhunting, Jul 11, 2008.

1. prodeerhunting

prodeerhunting New Member

I have been hunting with a bow for 18 years now, and I am just getting into doing some competitive shooting. I would like to know what you guys look for in a competition bow. I just joined an archery club here in TN and we are getting ready to be ASA affiliated. So, I am looking to comply with their rules and format.

All help and advice is greatly appreciated.

Matt Barlow

2. Rhustek

Rhustek New Member

I am not super educated on ASA rules but I believe that there is a fps limit on those shoots, like 280 fps unless they have changed it.

As for the bow, anything that you are comfortable with will work, there is a class for everyone.

3. Mathews Man

Mathews Man Foam Killer

X2:peace: and :welcome:

4. Wheely

Wheely Wheely Threads

:welcome:
    I don't know anything about it :noidea:
    Is there a website someone can give??

5. prodeerhunting

Thanks all!!

I have read the rules and was hoping for some insight as to why most people shoot a apex7 vs. x force vs. ......

I hunt w/ a 70 pound 6" bh x force, but am looking into buying something strictly for tournament shooting. As I understand it, a longer bh will be more forgiving than my 6". I am also pretty sure that I don't want to be shooting 70# either.

Any input on that?

Thanks,
    Matt Barlow

6. Rhustek

Rhustek New Member

You can shoot competitivly with your X-force 6. I plan on competing in IBO events in the MBO class. You could also shoot target with your X-6 as well, just depends on how much you practice as it would with any bow.

I would suggest a draw weight between 50-60 lbs, I just lowered my X-6 from 60#'s to ~53#'s and have noticed a huge difference. My speed is still close to 320fps which works well for IBO and distance judging errors.