Which bow next?

Discussion in 'General Archery Forum' started by Shortshaft, Dec 4, 2007.

1. Shortshaft

Shortshaft Member

I plan on a new bow for hunting this spring. I've been shooting a Jennings Uniforce XLR for 13-14 years at 70lbs. I have been shooting XX75 2216 camo hunters and an overdraw. I figure on something lighter, shorter, drop away rest, and carbon arrows. I ain't getting no younger so 60 lbs for draw at 29.5 inches. What do you recomend I try out that will make me a happy hunter? The cost isn't as important as the dependability and comfort. Thanks Ss.

2. swintj1

swintj1 Senior Member

I would recommend a few bows, from most expensive to least expensive:

1. Matthews Drenalin
    2. Hoyt Vectrix Plus
    3. Hoyt Katera
    4. Bowtech Guardian
    5. Bear Truth 2

Those are arguably the best hunting bows on the market right now. The cam cycles are all super smooth, (MAKE SURE WITH THE HOYTS IT IS THE Z3 CAM)...then all the cycles are smooth. The Guardian is a different beast in that it actually gets harder to draw the last 2" of the draw cycle rather than easier, but it is the most stable bow I have ever shot. It is lighter than the Hoyt's but the only bow that I've ever shot that is more stable during the shot. All are great choices though.

Good Luck, go shoot these and see which you like!

3. Dredly

Dredly Site Guru

in all honesty there are about 50 EXCELLENT hunting bows out there right now and there are bows in every price range that perform amazingly well. What kind of $$$ are you looking to put into your new setup"?

4. jcmorgan31

jcmorgan31 Prodigal Son

The Uniforce was my first bow ever!!!!!:rockon:

I just got in my Martin Firecat and it is a really nice bow. Shoot one if you can find one before you make your final decision.

5. tnts79

tnts79 Senior Member

I suggest taking a trip to the local proshop and test drive a few bows. Shoot a couple of each companies top end bows and see which one you like the most.